Saint Angelo Church in Milan
History of Saint Angelo Church and his masterpieces.
St.Angelo Square 2 - Milan
How to reach
How to reach:
Bus ATM: 41 - 43 - 94
The church and the convent were built for wish of the governor Luigi Gonzaga, in substitution of the homonym church demolished because on the projected layout for new walls of the city, and the works terminated in 1584. The architects Domenico Giunti and Francis Pirovano and the teacher Pietro Lonati were the authors of project.
The actual façade is of the 1630 while the small bell tower has been erect in 1607.
The inside of the building is at latin cross and articulates in a vast nave and a triumphal arc on which a Legnanino’s fresco is painted, while the numerous lateral chapels became wealthy of interesting works of art during the centuries.
In the first chapel to the right, devoted to St.Caterina, there are two painting of Anthony Campi representative the Saint, while the following chapel contains a “S.Carlo in glory” of the Morazzone. The decoration of the third chapel is devoted to the St.Francesco histories. The works are of “Mauro and Giovan Battista della Rovere”. On the walls of the eighth chapel there are the great frescos of “Semino”.
The sacristy has enriched with important works of Giulio Procaccini, Simone Peterzano Luini and Bambaia.
The three cloisters of the convent, all decorated ones with pictorial cycles of the Moncalvo, Morazzone and Procaccinis, deserve a visit.
In front of the church, in the planted with trees little square, it is found the fountain of St.Francis talks to the birds with the verses of the “Hymn of the Creatures”.
How tradition, the little square every Angels’s Mondays entertains one of the most popular Milanese festivities.
The church as the cloisters of the convent are a reference point for some important religious exhibitions. Interesting and worthy of note was the exhibiotions about the Russian Icons where some art works of notable historical value and artistic, could be admire.