Saint Lorenzo Maggiore Church in Milan
History of Saint Lorenzo Maggiore Church.
Corso of Porta Ticininese, 39 - Milan
How to reach
Tram: 3 - in Carrobbio: 2 - 12 - 14 - 20
Bus ATM (V.De Amicis - Ticinese): 94
The basilica of Saint Lorenz was built toward the end of the IV century or to the beginnings of the V ventury and restored in the '500 by Martino Bassi after the collapse of the great dome that sweeped away big part of the architectural structures.The actual façade dates back to1894.
The basilica suffered three catastrophic fires, that "of the stork" of 19 March 1071 and others in 1075 and in 1121. In 1117 was seriously damaged by a violent earthquake.
After having given a look to the high archways, frescoed by Carlo Urbini to end of ‘500, of obligation it’s to go down in the underground where the stones of the most grandiose Roman monument in the city “the Amphitheater” are concealed.
Absolutely to visit it is the St. Aquiline’s mausoleum where precious mosaics of the IV century are present and they are the most ancient of Milan.
The Columns of St. Lawrence in front of the basilica are antecedent and were put on the place during the basilica construction.
On the back of the Basilica there's the "Park of the basilicas" (now Vetra Place), where once there was perhaps a port, but later became a place where you kept tortures, hangings and executions. In memory a monument in eighteenth-century replacement of the previous cross.